Looker Chrome Extension

(Simon Clark) #1

I’d be nice to have a Chrome extension that can add or tweak features to Looker. Examples of some things off the top of my head that might be feasible:

• Overriding CSS to customise your Looker ‘theme’ - I’ve seen posts on here about people doing this
  • Adding an button to open query SQL in an external UI - e.g. the BigQuery web UI is nicer than SQL runner for some things
  • Browser notifications for query completion
  • Making hover descriptions remain on screen and render HTML a tags so they can link to external docs (probably tricky!)

For those of us who use Google Apps, it’s possible to publish an extension so it’s only accessible within your domain.

I am a BI developer who’s been working with looker since 2015 in quite a few different contexts. I also have a computer science degree and like hacking :slight_smile:

I don’t have a team yet…

Disclaimer: I’m not sure how feasible those suggestions are, or how happy Looker would be with this sort of a hack. Though it could let some of us prototype useful stuff which could then become part of the product. (maybe?!)

Anyone interested or have any suggestion for features?

3 Likes

(Dylan Baker) #2

Hey @simon_onfido. I really like this idea.

I think being able to push notifications to the Looker UI would be particularly useful. i.e. “The ETL for dataset X is currently down and the data is stale.”

I think lots of businesses push those types of notifications via Slack/email, but I think it would be really useful to have it in app.

Not sure what you think of that use case?

2 Likes

(Simon Clark) #3

Hey @dylan.baker, that sounds interesting - do you imagine it would query the Looker API to determine if any/what message is displayed?

I think if we could put together a prototype with a few simple features that can be enabled/disabled, and structure the code so it’s easy to extend, people can add and share any additions they make.

0 Likes

(Dylan Baker) #4