Create lookml and write back to looker from R

lookml
low_priority
done
api

I am relatively new to Looker and have a specific use case.

Our Looker instance sits on top of snowflake (sf). I access all my data directly connecting to sf, bypassing looker. However, I would like to be able to write back my results (from R) to looker ( /sf ).

How can I do so? How can I write my R output back into looker/sf programmatically? I have across this video, but I would like to see some examples. https://info.looker.com/youtube-join-2017/join-2017-integrating-with-python-and-r

Thank you.

0 Likes

The Podium — April 1, 2019
(Ben Silverstein) #2

This article might help. I’m guessing that using the Snowpipe API to post to the insertFiles endpoint should get you where you want to be, unless I’m misunderstanding your goal. Hope this works for you! As an aside, I think an easy writeback approach is going to be important in Looker’s future to finish that ‘actions to insight’ strategy and make it a reality :slight_smile:

https://docs.snowflake.net/manuals/user-guide/data-load-snowpipe-rest-apis.html#endpoint-insertfiles

0 Likes

(Max Corbin) #3

Hey first of all, welcome the Looker community! I’m happy to talk a little bit about what would be required here.

Looker is really, really good at acting as a single source of truth for data consumers, but at the moment it doesn’t support any kind of feedback that would write back to your database. In fact, if Snowflake is set up using our recommended steps, it’s likely that Looker doesn’t even have permissions to write to Snowflake.