Average of Last 4 weeks

Hi,

I have a look with the x weeks of data. It has 5-6 measures.

How the looks is:
The first column is a dimension , the weeks are pivoted. There are 5-6 measures. I want average for the last 4 or 7 weeks ( not rolling average). Is that possible , if yes how?

e.g : Week -> 2-Jan, 9-Jan , 16-Jan, 23-Jan ,30-Jan ,6-Feb ,13-Feb & I want the average of these 7 weeks across 20-Feb week.

Thanks,
-Soumya

0 Likes

(sam) #2

Hey @ssoutty68 - if I understand correctly, this is a use case for pivot_index. This table calculation function allows you to target specific pivot columns. In your case, you can target four columns, sum up their values, and divide them by 4. It would look something like:

(
  pivot_index(${measure},1) + 
  pivot_index(${measure},2) + 
  pivot_index(${measure},3) + 
  pivot_index(${measure},4)
) / 4 
1 Like

Awesome, this worked. Thanks a ton Sam for the prompt reply. I am new to looker but have been a heavy Tableau user. Would you be able to guide me on the best resources on stuff I can do with Looker. ( visualizations, table calculations etc)

One other thing I needed help with is that I wanted to show 6-7 measure for 7 weeks. But I want the revenue for all 7 weeks together first and then orders for the 7 weeks next. Right now I see week 1 & the revenue, order etc. ( i want to download and play around with this data hence the ask).

e.g get week 1 , week 2 , week 3 …(pivot) and get revenue for these weeks next to each other and then week 1 , week 2 , week 3 …(pivot) and get orders for these weeks next to each other

Appreciate the support.

Thanks
-SS

0 Likes

(vincent) #4

Hi @ssoutty68,